Your browser (Internet Explorer 7 or lower) is out of date. It has known security flaws and may not display all features of this and other websites. Learn how to update your browser.


Navigate / Profile / Search

Crash Reconstruction Unit

Sergeant Gerald Hanson, Commanding Officer

The Crash Reconstruction Unit is a specialized unit within the Waterbury Police Department. The responsibilities of the unit include the investigation of all serious physical injury and fatal car crashes. The unit has also assisted with the investigation of industrial accidents resulting in serious physical injury or death as well as assisting with crim scene documentation and evidence collection.

The Crash Reconstruction Unit responds to scenes regardless of the time of day, and weather. Their function includes determining the sequence of events, the underlying causes and responsibilities, and ultimately to prosecute those responsible in criminal court.

There are currently nine (9) members of the unit, which is supervised by a sergeant who reports to the Aide to the Assistant Deputy Chief. All nine members of the unit including the sergeant are certified Traffic Crash Reconstructionists. To be a member of the CRU an officer must attend all three intensive courses offered by the University of North Florida (Institute of Police Technology and Management). In addition, some members of the unit have received advanced training in Pedestrian/Bicycle collisions, Commercial motor vehicle crashes, Motorcycle crashes, and advanced driving under the influence recognition. All the members of the CRU are trained in the use of the police departments advanced precision measuring equipment and corresponding diagramming software. Based on the training and experience the officers received over the years many of the members are considered experts in the field of Traffic Crash Reconstruction.

The members of the CRU include:

  • Sergeant Gerald Hanson (Patrol Division)
  • Officer Michael Terzigni (Traffic Enforcement Division)
  • Officer Marc Sharoh (Patrol Division)
  • Officer Christopher Gagnon (Community Relations Division)
  • Officer Ann-Marie Girouard (Traffic Enforcement Divison)
  • Officer Donald Savage (Patrol Division)
  • Officer Jason Cochiola (Patrol Division)
  • Officer Joseph Farina (Patrol Division)